Speeding is quite tempting when you have a powerful car or you are late for an appointment. While it seems harmless, and a necessary evil under certain circumstances, speeding over 100mph can have dire consequences as it not only puts the driver at risk of injury or death but also endangers other road users. Additionally, if caught, the driver is likely to face legal penalties including fines, a driving ban, and jail time.
So, you are happily cruising at more than 100mph along a freeway when you hear the all too familiar but ominous siren that signifies you are about to be pulled over, and cited for speeding. Or you just opened your mailbox, and a letter with a city’s insignia fell out. Whichever technique the police used to get you, the undeniable fact is that you are holding a notice requiring you to appear in court for a traffic violation.
Normally, the cost of traffic tickets for speeding over 100mph depends on the state you are in at the time of the violation. In addition, other factors such as the zone you were speeding in, and the posted speed limit will come into play.
In California, a first-time offender usually faces a fine of less than $500, jail time, or two points on the driving license. According to California’s Vehicle Code-VEH § 22348(b), a person who drives a vehicle on a highway exceeding 100mph, is guilty of an infraction. Upon first conviction, the person is liable to a fine not exceeding $500. In addition, the court may suspend the driver’s license for a period not exceeding 30 days under Section 13200.5. A second offense occurring within three years results in a fine not exceeding $750, and their driving privileges are suspended for six months while a third offense occurring within five years will result in a fine not exceeding $1,000, and driving privileges suspended for one year.
Normally, the cost of your speeding ticket will depend on how many mph you were driving over the limit. The overall cost of the ticket will also be determined by the county in which you were driving when you violated the speed limit.
California’s base rate for a speeding ticket is $35 for driving 1 to 15mph above the limit. By now you are thinking ‘That does not sound like much’, right? Wrong. The base rate is not all as there are other charges including assessment fees that drive up the cost of the speeding ticket. These extra charges assist in financing the court, and other processes such as DNA identification.
Apart from the extra charges, the base rate is not always constant as it normally goes up depending on certain circumstances. If you have a recent traffic conviction (within 36 months), the base rate goes up. If you were speeding within a construction or school zone, the base rate is likely to double. As the base rate increases, the charges attached to it also go up.
While the cost of traffic for speeding over 100mph in California might look harsh, some states, such as Nevada, go out of their way to make it more painful for speeding motorists.
Nevada is known for the highest fines for speeding tickets in the US. Here, a first-time speeding driver can pay up to $1,000, making it the most expensive state for speeding motorists. The default maximum speed in Nevada is 80mph. Motorists going at a significant speed above the limit are also likely to face a more serious reckless driving charge.
For every mile you exceed the speed limit, the fine is capped at $20. Therefore, if you were doing 110mph in a zone indicated for the maximum speed of 80mph, you are likely to pay about $600. However, certain factors will likely affect the overall cost of your speeding ticket. These include:
In addition, speeding is considered a misdemeanor in Nevada. If convicted, a motorist can be jailed for up to six months.
States such as Mississippi have straightforward speed limits stipulating that if you exceed the absolute speed limit, you run afoul of the law. That means if the posted speed limit is 65mph, and you go faster than that, you get a speeding ticket. Common speed limits are 70mph on interstate highways, 55mph on two-lane highways, and 15mph around school zones. According to Mississippi Code 63-3-501, no person should operate a vehicle on the highways of the state at speeds exceeding 65mph. The statute also holds that, while the Mississippi Transportation Commission may increase the limits on any Interstate Highway, they cannot go beyond 70mph.
Unlike some states that regard driving above certain speeds such as 20mph above the limit as reckless driving, Mississippi has no such rule. However, driving above the stipulated speed limit is among the considerations when determining whether a motorist was driving recklessly.
Mississippi code 63-3-1201 defines reckless driving as operating a vehicle in a manner to indicate a wanton or willful disregard for the safety of persons or property. "Wanton" means the driver understands but disregards the consequences, while "willful" means the driver’s behavior is purposeful and intentional.
On the other hand, Oklahoma has the lowest speeding ticket fines with offenders paying as little as $10 for exceeding the speed limit by 10mph. However, additional fees can drive the fine up to $172. The maximum speed in the state is 75mph, so if you are driving over 100mph, you are likely to face a $213 fine.
There are two types of speeding laws in Oklahoma: absolute limits and basic speeding laws. Absolute limits require motorists to drive a vehicle within the posted speed limits. These are:
The basic speeding law is the speed at which a motorist can drive safely depending on current conditions. This means that driving in a zone with a speed limit of 75mph when it is dark, and foggy is improper.
Ultimately, there is no one-size-fits-all cost of traffic tickets for speeding over 100 mph, as different jurisdictions penalize speeding motorists differently. Here, the takeaway lesson is for motorists to observe speed limits in respective driving zones and abide by them. If you have been cited for speeding, do not fret about it, contact Auto Allies for legal assistance.